Skip to content

New City Catechism

October 18, 2012

Catechism is a word that meant nothing for me.. I think my only mind-association with it was Roman Catholicism (and that it sounded painful!). Recently I discovered what catechism is. A quick google search can say it better than me:

A summary of the principles of Christian religion in the form of questions and answers, used for the instruction of Christians.

Particularly, catechisms are designed to be memorized and even to be taught to children. Teaching our children the Word and family memorization of Scripture and doctrine are both things that I am taking very seriously.

Catechism was popular in previous generations, but perhaps has dropped away recently with our generation’s general lack of interest in Christians knowing their doctrine and taking it seriously.

I have looked at various catechisms online and have always wanted to memorize one. I think I’ve just found the one to start with!

New City Catechism

The New City Catechism is a joint production by The Gospel Coalition and Redeemer Presbyterian Church (New York) adapted from other Reformation catechisms.

The best way to understand what this catechism is about, read the introduction page on the website.

New City Catechism is a free iPad app and is also free to view online.

As a soon-to-be parent, I am excited to take advantage of this awesome free resource and encourage others to do the same. If anyone has used it please comment below and let me know your thoughts.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2012 7:41 am

    I love it. My started reading it to my 7 months old daughter 😀

    • November 13, 2012 9:44 am

      Wow, maybe it’s not too early to start (we’re due in January)! 🙂

Leave a Reply

